Social Security Disability Insurance "Medical Listings"

Medical listings are a framework Social Security utilizes to evaluate your disability claim


The Social Security Administration (SSA) has broken down the human body and mind into 14 distinct impairment categories called medical listings. These listings help Social Security evaluate your disability claim. It is important to note that you do not need to meet (or equal) a medical listing to be found disabled under SSA rules. Social Security utilizes a 5-step sequential evaluation process and these medical listings are only utilized at Step 3 of this process. So if you are not found disabled at Step 3 of the evaluation process (that is, you do not meet a listing), you can still be approved at either Step 4 or Step 5 of the process. But, many claims are approved based on these medical listings, so they are important to understand.

SSDI and SSI Impairment Categories or Medical Listings


Listing 1.00 Musculoskeletal System Disorders

Disorders of the musculoskeletal system can be caused by hereditary or congenital reasons, infections, inflammatory or degenerative diseases, trauma, cancer or tumors, problems with blood vessels or lymph nodes, or toxic/metabolic diseases. Disorders under this section include joint dislocations, back pain and disc problems, arthritis, amputations, fractures, soft tissue injuries and burns that need surgery.

Listing 2.00 Special Senses & Speech

Disorders in this section include those of the eye, optic nerve, optic tracts, or the brain that may cause a loss of vision, either partially or fully, hearing and/or speech.

Listing 3.00 Respiratory System Disorders

Disorders in this section include impairments resulting from respiratory diseases (including emphysema, chronic bronchitis or asthma), restrictive pulmonary disorders, such as chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, that cause a primary loss of lung volume (pulmonary resection, thoracoplasty, chest cage deformity or obesity), or infiltrative interstitial disorders (diffuse pulmonary fibrosis).

Listing 4.00 Cardiovascular System Disorders

Disorders in this section include those affecting the proper functioning of the heart or the circulatory system (arteries, veins, capillaries, and the lymphatic drainage), either congenital or acquired.

Listing 5.00 Digestive System Disorders

Disorders in this section include gastrointestinal hemorrhage, hepatic (liver) dysfunction, inflammatory bowel disease, short bowel syndrome, and malnutrition leading to complications such as an obstruction, or manifestations in other body systems.

Listing 6.00 Genitourinary Impairments

Disorders in this section include disorders of the kidneys and urinary tract.


Listing 7.00 Hematological Disorders

Disorders in this section include disorders of the blood system.

Listing 8.00 Skin Disorders

Disorders in this section include hereditary, congenital or pathological ichthyosis, bullous diseases, chronic infections of the skin or mucous membranes, dermatitis, hidradenitis suppurativa, genetic photosensitivity disorders, and burns.

Listing 9.00 Endocrine Disorders

Disorders in this section include abnormalities of the pituitary gland, thyroid, parathyroid, adrenal gland and pancreas that cause a hormonal imbalance, producing either too much (hyperfunction) or too little (hypofunction) of a specific hormone.

Listing 10.00 Impairments That Affect Multiple Body Systems

Disorders in this section include mosaic and non-mosaic Down Syndrome, characterized by a complex of physical characteristics, delayed physical development, and mental retardation. Adults with confirmed non-mosaic Down Syndrome are evaluated under Listing 10.06. If a claimant has confirmed non-mosaic Down Syndrome, Social Security will consider him or her to be disabled from birth.

Listing 11.00 Neurological Disorders

Disorders in this section include epilepsy, central nervous system disorders, neuropathy, brain tumors, Parkinson’s Disease, Cerebral Palsy, Multiple Sclerosis, ALS, and others.

Listing 12.00 Mental Disorders

Disorders in this section include organic mental disorders, schizophrenia, paranoia and other psychotic disorders, affective disorders, mental retardation, anxiety-related, somatoform, personality, substance addiction, and autism or other pervasive developmental disorders.

Listing 13.00 Malignant Neoplastic Diseases

Disorders in this section include all malignant neoplasms except those associated with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection.

Listing 14.00 Immune System Disorders

Disorders in this section include lupus erythematosus, systemic vasculitis, systemic sclerosis (scleroderma), polymyositis and dermatomyositis, undifferentiated and mixed connective tissue disease, immune deficiency disorders (excluding HIV), human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection, inflammatory arthritis and Sjögren’s syndrome.


We Know How To Win These Cases

At Quikaid, we have extensive experience with each of Social Security’s Impairment Categories, and we know how to get these claims approved. If you want to speak with a disability expert from Quikaid, contact us now to get started. Let us put our expertise to work for you!

Share via:


If you need disability benefits, hire Quikaid now. You will not regret it. We will do everything possible to get your claim approved. Sign our contract now online, or fill out our Free Case Evaluation, so we can start the process of getting you approved for benefits! You have nothing to lose, and everything to gain.
The time to get started is NOW!

Hire America's Disability Experts® Now